Jump to content
green light

Start charge ignored while driving?

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

When (re)loading a stored plan, having start charge set to 100%, after planning start charge is listed as current charge. Due to that additional chargers are added.

Same occures, without a stored plan, so just planning from a certain address to somewhere with a start charge set, still the current charge is used.

First use case occures when reopening web browser after a charge (or due to other browser problems).

 

Edited by green light

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

This does not happen every time just in special conditions if you used the "replan" button and then try to return to the saved plan (because the replan button did this "point on map" thing is wrote in support forum.

So in short:

Load a plan, all fine. Drive. Fine. Replan, first problem with this "point on map". Load plan again, start charge field is ignored.

Other thread: https://forum.abetterrouteplanner.com/topic/408-replan-button/

Edited by green light

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I did some additional investigations on this. Finally I found 3 issues that look wrong to me, all belong to the "replan" button:

(1) Issue 1:

We have a plan like this:

  • (A) Start
  • (B) Charger 1
  • (C) Destination

If you push "replan" after you left "charger 1", plan looks like this:

  • (A) Point on map
  • (B) Charger 1
  • (C) Destination

The routing will route you back to "charger 1".

Another plan:

  • (A) Start
  • (B) Charger 1
  • (C) Charger 2
  • (D) Destionation

If you use "replan" after charger 2, plan will become this:

  • (A) Point on map
  • (B) Charger 2
  • (C) Destination

So charger 1 is removed, but again this will route you back to the last visited charger.

(2) Issue 2:

If you used the "replan" button, the "start charge" field is completely ignored until web page is reloaded. (first post of this thread)

Use case: After I got this wired replan I loaded the saved plan of the trip. But as start charge (which was set to 100% in the input field) the current charge was used. Due to this additional chargers were added.

(3) Issue 3:

As I understand the "replan" button, one should be able to refresh the route if you drive another way than planned (due to traffic) or have left the charger with another charge than planned.

But when you leave the planned route, the graph and detail view is hidden and so the "replan" button.

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Excellent bug report, thank you for taking the time to specify this so well!

I have just fixed issues 1&2. I think your issues with 3 may be that you are planning from a fixed address; the "Replan?" button will only appear if you are planning from "My Position" (which is kind of what makes sense). If you plan from "My Position" you will get a dialog "You have left the route - replan?" and also the "Replan" button will appear if your actual SoC is more than 2% (SoC) away from the planned SoC.

Let me know how that works!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks Bo. You are right, most time I plan long trips with a fixed start address (eg. home). So when I have to leaf highway for some reason I had no chance to update my trip with that setup. But without that fixed address planning might add additional chargers or estimate other charge levels.

Is there any reason for this behaviour to use "my position"?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Well, well... Looks like issue 1 and 2 are fixed but have another problem now, sorry: If I push the "replan" the route is correct now. But the current charge is not taken but the start charge (so 100%). So the fix of issue 2 dropped the use of current charge value for replanning?

If I manually push "use live data" of the settings, all is fine as expected.

I see now, replan is a really complex thing.

Other note: "You have left the route - replan?" dialog came! Even without "my position".

Edited by green light

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, it is kind of complex to get it to work intuitively for all use cases. When you plan from a fixed address, ABRP will assume that you may not at all be where your plan is, and therefore not bug you with questions about leaving the route.

If you have car telemetry, such as MyTesla, then leaving the Initial Charge empty means it will be taken from the car at all times, including after replanning. Does it not work like that for you now?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If i don't have live data, can the replan function use the expected (or reported via drive mode) battery level at the point the route was left?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Since you don't have live data, you will see a battery icon showing the estimated SoC while driving. If you verify this by clicking in the middle of it (or adjusting it up and down), ABRP will assume this is up-to-date and will use it as initial SoC for the replan.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is all kinda not that intuitive - perhaps a bit of a basic user guide would be good?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


Contact Us

Bo - Lead Developer and Tesla owner: bo@abetterrouteplanner.com

Jason - New Car Models, Developer and Bolt owner : jason@abetterrouteplanner.com

Idreams - Forums Administrator, Forums Developer and Tesla owner : idreams@abetterrouteplanner.com

×
×
  • Create New...